The first time I saw the use of that word was in March of 2016. Someone tagged me in a meme that showed a stereotypical member of the LGBTQ+ community with a feminism shirt and rainbow hair shaking her son and yelling “why haven’t you cut off your penis yet?!?” and her son saying, “I don’t want to be a girl mom”

At that point in time, I found it amusing and I actually screenshotted it so I could show my other friends.

fullsizerender

Hey would you look at that, it’s still in my camera roll.

It has been 8 months since March. Between then and now, I have changed immensely. Not changed, more like come to the realization of things (you were right, Kylie).

I no longer accept the standards that society forces on me. But this is both a blessing and a curse. It’s a blessing because I have finally found my voice. I’m no longer the shy little girl who could be swayed by every single comment from the outside, but rather an independent woman who can think for herself.

When you see me address these issues on social media platforms, what do you think of? Do you take the time to finish reading it? Do you analyze the words which I put so much time and effort into articulating? Or am I another stereotype for you to ridicule?

Because if so, let me give you a reminder: I am here. I am alive. I am a person. I am a woman of color. I am aware of the state of this country. I do my research and dedicate my time to the issues that I see.

Don’t dismiss my opinion. 

I invite you to share your opinion, in which I will counter if I see fitting. But don’t say that I am “triggered”. Never say that.

